top of page

Inspired by Zakir khan’s poem

As I stopped passing through the street where you lived

Your admirers sitting on the stairwell finally rejoiced

But there are few questions I’d like to ask

Does his lips calm the nerves of your forehead?

The same way my lips used to.

Does the warmth of his breath make your heart skip a beat?

Like mine did.

Do you still hide the blanket on cold nights?

To give him an excuse to embrace you.

Do you still get drunk and spill your secrets to him?

Just to tell them to him again when you get sober, like you used to with me.

Answer me.

Do you still let your tresses slip down your cheeks?

So he could find them up with his fingers. Just the way I used to!

Does he keeps staring into your eyes till the Crimson evenings turn black,

Just like I used to.

Do you show him the pictures in which? you still search for your childhood!

Have you told him those tales? which you had shared with me saying,

I haven’t told this to anyone else.

Answer me!

Anyway, forget it all! Just answer this

Have you forgotten that night? When I held you by your waist,

Laid my head on your shoulder and whispered just one thing.

Don’t ever leave. To which you replied, “never”.

Answer me!

bottom of page